Personal injury compensation in Pennsylvania is awarded based on what is known as “modified comparative fault.” What this means is that you will be eligible to receive compensation for an injury even if you are deemed to be partially at-fault for the accident. Your percentage of fault will be deducted from the amount of money you can recover. All personal injury cases in the state operate under these statutes. If you have need help obtaining slip and fall compensation in Pennsylvania, please contact the experienced lawyers at Accident & Injury Law Group today.
Slip and Fall Compensation in Pennsylvania | Modified Comparative Fault
Under the rules of modified comparative fault, you can receive compensation as long as your degree of fault does not exceed 50%. If it is more, you will be barred from receiving anything. For instance, if you are initially awarded $10,000 but are deemed to be 20% at-fault for the slip and fall accident, you will only receive $8,000.
Slip and Fall Compensation in Pennsylvania | Wet Floor Signs
If you slip in an area where there is a wet floor sign, you may immediately think that you will be ineligible to file an injury claim. That is not always the case. In some cases, it might be determined that you were partially at-fault for not noticing the warning sign, yet that does not excuse the property owner from placing the sign in a location that may not be easily noticeable. In a situation like this, you would still be eligible to recover compensation.
If you have any more questions about slip and fall compensation in Pennsylvania, we would love to hear from you. Contact the Accident & Injury Law Group today to schedule a free consultation and get started on your personal injury case.